This past
weekend, Hubby and I took some time off.
On Friday,
we got up at 3 AM to head for the airport. We parked at our chosen parking lot,
caught the shuttle to the airport. We didn't have any bags to check in, and we
already had our boarding passes printed out, so we headed straight for the
security checkpoint. We were there 2 hours before our plane was scheduled to
leave, so we thought we'd have time to catch some food for breakfast, once we
were through security.
Unfortunately,
the TSA line was full, and people were being sent all the way down the shopping
mall branch hallway to line up. My back was aching by the time we reached the
end of the line, and they claimed it would only take 1/2 hour to get through the
security checkpoint.
Right.
We were
careful not to lose any stuff at security, and hurried toward the shuttle to
get to our gate. Hubby put his shoes back on while riding the shuttle. When we
got to the gate, they were already boarding, so no chance to get any food.
Hubby got his belt back on after he got our carry-on luggage in the overhead
bins.
Once in
the air, they announced they had drinks and snacks for sale, but they would not
be serving any complimentary refreshments. Possibly because the flight was less
than 3 hours, I don't know; they didn't give a reason.
Things
like that don't usually bother me too much, but Hubby gets irritable when he
doesn't get any breakfast. So once we landed in KC and our son picked us up, he
took us to get some breakfast. We didn't expect him to BUY breakfast for us,
but he did. Possibly he remembers how growly Dad gets when he's hungry.
Son had
some errands to run, so he dropped us off at his apartment while he did them
with his friend from Massachusetts. Did I mention son was getting married this
weekend? Massachusetts was going to be his best man.
Anyway,
one of son's cats decided Hubby was okay, and chose his lap to sit on a couple
of times. Hubby has a long-present allergy to cats, but didn't react as badly
as he usually does. Still, he wasn't quite sure what to do with a cat on his
lap.
With the
errands run, we all got in the car (no, not the cats) and headed for the small
town of Carollton MO, which was where the ceremony was going to be. There is a
4-story old mansion in Carollton that is used for weddings, big parties, and
other events. The bride and members of her side would spend the night in that
old mansion. There was a 3-bedroom house across the street where Son,
Massachusetts, Hubby and I would get to sleep. Hubby and I spent an hour or so
watching the news in that house across the street while son and Massachusetts
helped get things ready at the mansion. They wanted the ceremony outside, but
there was some concern it might rain, so back-up plans needed to be made.
We did
wander over to socialize after a while, and got introduced to all sorts of parents,
step-parents, aunts, uncles, cousins and what-not of the bride. We went outside
and watched them discuss the ceremony, what would happen when, and how long it
would take. It sounded terribly complicated.
We went
back inside and socialized some more, talking mostly to grandpa of the bride.
He was a little hard of hearing, but otherwise had his wits about him, and was
willing to let everybody else deal with the details of What Needed To Be Done,
so it was pleasant to engage with him.
After
getting up so early, we retired to the house across the street shortly after
the rehearsal dinner, which had been created by the bride's side of the family.
I started out by taking a little bit of everything, but as I ran out of room on
my plate, I had to limit my selection of salads. The food was all good, but I
was favorably impressed by the Buffalo Chicken. I'm not a big fan of chicken,
but this was good, nicely spiced so it had some flavor. The dates stuffed with
walnuts were also very good.
But as I
said, about 8:30, we went across the street and went to bed. It had been a long
day.
Saturday
morning, we got up and got dressed for the wedding, then sat around waiting for
an appropriate time to go over. Son had gotten a text from his Brother that he
couldn't come because his fiancée had had foot surgery and couldn't get around
very well yet. Good thing Massachusetts was there to be best man. We asked Son
if he shouldn't be helping to get things ready, and he said no, Bride was
getting photos taken of her in her dress, so he had to stay away.
Eventually,
we did go over, and somebody was pinning corsages to the bridal party's lapels,
which included Hubby as Father-of-the-Groom. Somebody handed me small bouquet
as Mother-of-the-Groom. Son introduced us to his boss, the only person from his
job who had been able to make the ceremony. After a short while, people started
moving outside to the chairs, since it wasn't raining. I was just stepping
outside when I saw my Eldest Son, half-brother to Son. And right behind him...
our Younger Son, who had felt so badly about missing his brother's wedding,
that he had left his fiancée in her mother's care and driven the 4 hours to be
there!
After the
ceremony, we went back inside and had pastries and caffeine while more photos
were taken. We counted the number of people on the Groom's side and there were
8 of us, counting the groom. Most of us found a table and had a nice
conversation. We got along great. Even as shy as I am, I managed to contribute
to the conversation. Brunch was served by the caterer, and while it was good,
it wasn't as good as the rehearsal dinner. We kept talking until they cleaned
our table of its centerpiece, as they had done with all the other tables. We
knew they had a deadline for when they had to leave, so we helped carry a few
items to the kitchen for them, and then we found the bride and groom and said
our good-byes.
Younger
Son drove Hubby and me to our motel in KC. It was nice to get that extra 1.5
hrs with him. But we knew he wanted to get home, so we didn't keep him waiting
once we got there. We checked in and found our room. Hubby found himself a cup
of coffee, and we watched The Bourne Legacy, then went to bed. Who knew having
fun conversation could be so tiring?
Sunday. No
need to get up early, as long as we got breakfast. They did serve a hot
breakfast, but it was sausage, sausage, not-that-done scrambled eggs, pancakes
and waffles. I settled for a cold biscuit (No butter or gravy available; I had
it with honey), a banana and orange juice. Then I had a packet of instant
oatmeal. Not the most inspired motel breakfast I've ever had. We checked out
just before 11 AM and sat in the lobby for an hour. I printed out our boarding
passes. At about noon, the shuttle took us to the airport. The way KC's
security is set up, we were through it, at our gate and settled for a long wait
by 1 PM. Our plane was supposed to take off at 6:10 PM.
About
3:15, we went to the only restaurant we could get to and had a sandwich and
drink each. Came to almost $50 for the 2 of us. Talk about gouging.
Expecting,
no refreshments during the ride, I went to the shop and got a bottle of pop,
but they didn't have any chips, trail mix, nuts or gum, so I got a roll of live
savers. I used the life savers during the flight to try to help my ears pop,
but I never touched my bottle of pop. I fell asleep.
The
shuttle to the parking lot would only pick us up in one particular spot, so we
went there, and I spent 15 minutes trying to call them to let them know we were
ready to be picked up. When they got there, they were packed to the gills for
the ride back to the parking lot. Getting to the pick-up spot, waiting for
them, and then getting to the parking lot took us about an hour.
And then
another hour to drive home, so we got home just a few minutes before midnight.
Needless to say, we went to bed. And then we found ourselves 'recuperating' on
Monday.
Now to get
back to work.